Pudding Covered Rhubarb Strawberry Cake


It’s springtime and my two favourite flavors return: rhubarb and strawberry. One of my absolute favourite cakes (outside of rhubarb season) is a pudding covered apple cake my mom makes. So I thought, why not cover a rhubarb cake with pudding? I don’t know the exact recipe my mom uses. But I more and more enjoy experimenting rather than following a recipe word by word, anyway.

However, the original cake is made with yeast dough, which I didn’t have the patience for that day. So, I pulled out my usual rhubarb cake recipe. I used more eggs and a little more milk so it would be easier to spread the dough on a rectangle baking sheet. The original recipe is intended for a round form and needs to be spread thinner on the baking sheet I used. Therefore I thought it better to have a softer dough.

I spread the rhubarb on top of the dough in a nice grid-like pattern and added some strawberries into the spaces in between. I almost felt sorry for covering up the pattern. But the pudding and, more importantly, the egg whites were already prepared. (For the pudding I would have found some other use.) 

So, I mixed the vanilla pudding (made from custard powder) with beaten egg whites and some extra sugar and spread it on top of the cake. I used three egg whites but I now think two would have been enough. 

I put the cake in the oven for some 30 to 40 minutes at 180 degrees celsius. I didn’t exactly watch the clock but rather watched the pudding cover turn brown. At that point I was quite uncertain about the outcome since the cake by itself needs  30 minutes. I wasn’t sure how the added cover would change the timing. However, the topping browned quite fast and I was afraid it would burn before the dough was done. I removed the cake before the top started to turn black but I waited until I was quite confident that it had had enough time to bake.

And I have to say: It turned out great! Can you tell me a better combination than strawberries, rhubarb and vanilla pudding?

Here’s the recipe:

  • 130 g Butter
  • 130 g Sugar
  • 2-3 Egg Yolks
  • 2 Eggs
  • Vanilla Sugar or Vanilla Aroma
  • Lemon Zest or Lemon Aroma
  • Salt
  • 260 g Flour
  • 2 Teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 100 ml Milk

Topping:

  • Rhubarb
  • Strawberries
  • Custard Powder (Vanilla)
  • 500 ml Milk
  • 80 g Sugar
  • 2-3 Egg Whites, whipped
Leave a Reply

